I'm watching you. Yes, you.

A Trip to Mars Bar

This past weekend was one of my most favorite weekends. It ranks right up there with the GeekLabel Pub Crawl. I made my way down to Richmond, VA, which is about 3 hours away. Assuming traffic isn’t an issue. Which, of course, it was. I got onto the 270 spur around 5:30 or so, which was a huge mistake – right in the middle of Friday rush-hour traffic, and they close the beltway. It took me an entire hour to make it from the 270 spur to the beltway. When I finally made it there, I’d driven for 4 and half hours. But I was glad to be there. Mae & I met up, we got my stuff out of the car, and then went out for a little sushi before meeting the boys. I met Chip and Max – two of Mae & Scotts’ friends. We messed around Maxs’ apartment until about 2 or so, and then went back to Mae’s place and crashed.

Saturday we got up and finally got rolling around noon – we went to this crazy huge mall in a place called Short Pump, on the outskirts of Richmond. Super fancy, open-air mall with two floors and a bajillion shops. I spent way too much money, but I had a ton of fun.

Saturday night we went out for a quick bite and then met Max and Chip at Mars Bar. They play 80s music almost all the time. The Vicar was there, and some of his groupies, and then The Bruce showed up and we journeyed next door to Fallout, which is a ‘goth’ club. It was “Sado-Saturday” but I really didn’t see much Sadism going on. Girls wandering around in platform boots and lingerie, mostly. Usually tacky, ripped and torn lingerie. I guess it makes it look ‘hardcore.’ I could’ve done better, if I had the energy, and if I had shaved…

This weekend I’ll be going back down to Richmond for RavenCon. I plan on leaving during the early afternoon on Friday so I don’t have to fight with beltway traffic, and to see all the stuff they’ve got planned that day. I don’t plan on drinking as much, as fast as I did this past weekend. I plan on mixing more water into the evenings, also. I plan on having an assload of fun.

If you see me, make sure to say hi.

Comments on: "A Trip to Mars Bar" (2)

  1. had a great time- and i’ll be sure to say hi this weekend! 😉

  2. LOL @ “I really didn’t see much Sadism going on. Girls wandering around in platform boots and lingerie, mostly. Usually tacky, ripped and torn lingerie. I guess it makes it look ‘hardcore.’ I could’ve done better, if I had the energy, and if I had shaved…”

    Maybe the tag line should be: “Putting the ‘Sad’ into ‘Sado-Saturday’!”

Leave a Reply

