I'm watching you. Yes, you.

ADD at the Garden Center

This weekend was really nice, and I finally got to go out to Strange’s Florist & Garden Center on Saturday. They were having their Bloomin’ Days festivities and I thought it’d be a perfect time to snag a free hot dog, cruise around their greenhouses and see what I can find. I’d been wanting to get several different kinds of “exotic” plants – in the sense that not many other people have them.

It was a really nice day, and quite warm in the greenhouses. I snagged a hot dog and ate, watching the SPCA’s dogs for a while, from a far distance. Then I finally looked lost enough for an employee to ask me if I needed any help. Of course, I ask “Do you  have any bonsai?” and he immediately pulls a sad Japanese accent and we truck off into the houseplants section. He helped me find the bonsai, and I was immediately sucked in. It took me 20 minutes at least, looking at every single plant, from multiple directions, for me to finally give up and pick one. I chose a Juniper in a rectangular ceramic pot with some moss and stones for added decor. There were also braided money trees that were very nice, and I found a tray full of Venus Fly-Traps and Pitcher plants. So of course, I had to pick up a Venus. I almost got a plant whose sign stated all you do is let the soil dry and once it’s finished blooming you just toss it, but I thought that was a slight waste of money. Then I stumbled upon the tiniest cacti that I’ve ever seen, and thought I might put five or six together for a small low-maintenance desert garden, but then realized between the six tiny cacti and a pot with a tray it’d be far too much money for right now. So I put them all away and found a small double-bloom Echeveria cactus. I also found a table full of all different colored Bromeliads, one of which looked like it had a bulb of purple and pink cotton candy on top. I wanted that, but it was a little pricey, and so I settled for a vibrant red one.

So I spent about two hours at the garden center, and I brought home four plants – the Venus (which has already caught something!) the Echeveria cactus, the Bromeliad, and the Juniper bonsai. Plus a bag of potting soil, and a purple pot that I used to re-pot the Bromeliad. The girls at the register liked my credit card – a bright pink rose close-up.

I’m thinking of taking the bonsai to work, if they’ll permit it. I have a slight hankering to go back sometime in late spring and maybe pick up one or two more small houseplants, plus whatever I’d need to re-pot the Venus. It’s small now, but I’m hoping to let it outside to play every now and then, and hopefully it’ll fatten up nicely. Muahahaha.

Forever,

Jett

Leave a Reply

